SSRS: How to get Version information from Report Manager

Few days back, there was a requirement to do minor changes to one of the existing report. I started by downloading the report from the production report manager. Created a new Report Server project using BIDS 2008, added the report, did changes and previewed the report. Everything looked great.

But when I tried to upload the report to the Report Manager, I got an error message like

The report definition is not valid. Details: The report definition has an invalid target namespace ‘http://schemas.microsoft.com/sqlserver/reporting/2008/01/reportdefinition’ which cannot be upgraded. (rsInvalidReportDefinition)

From the error message I could figure out that this is due to version problem. But there is no place in the report manager where I could get the version information. I neither have access to the box where Reporting Services is installed nor the machine where the SQL SERVER database is installed.

I had to fall back on to my good friend, Google, which led me to this thread that details out how to get the version information from different places , including Report Manager. To get the version info from Report Manager, right-click and select view source.  The CONTENT attribute gives the version information.

For SSRS 2005, it starts with 9.0 

whereas for SSRS 2008 it starts with 10.0

I figured out that my report server was 2005 and the error occurred because I was trying to upload a RDL created in 2008. 🙂

About Suresh Kumar D

Hardcore SQL Developer and aspiring Database Architect.
This entry was posted in SSRS. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SSRS: How to get Version information from Report Manager

  1. themarlin says:

    So how did you solve the issue?

  2. themarlin says:

    Rebuild the project and reports in BIDS2005?

Leave a Reply

