SSRS Report Delivery by Email failed with “Client not authenticated error”

I have SSRS 2008 intalled on my desktop. As part of testing, I had to enable a report to be delievered to a set of users by e-mail on schedule.

So I tried to create a subscription. But in the subscription I could not see “E-Mail” option. The only option available was “Windows File share” option. I realized that I have not enabled E-Mail setting of my reporting services. So using Reporting Services Configuration manager, I enabled the E-Mail settings by providing a sender address and a remote SMTP server.

Then created a subscription for the report by selecting delivery method as E-Mail , send to address as my email id and created a schedule.

The subscription ran on schedule but failed with an error like

SSRS Failure sending mail: The server rejected the sender address. The server response was: 530 5.7.1 Client was not authenticated  Mail will not be resent.

I rechecked my configurations. Everything looked fine. So I could not understand why the SMTP server was rejecting my account. After surfing for sometime , I came across this post in MSDN (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms159155.aspx) which says that by default the authentication mode is anonymous . I understood why my SMTP thrown an error :(.

I was in for another surprise when I realized that Reporting Services configuration manager has no option to change this setting. Again flipping thru many pages in NET, finally I came across this post (http://blog.tech4him.com/2009/02/configure-sql-server-reporting-services-ssrs-for-non-default-smtp/) which confirmed that there is no way to change this setting thru UI. The only option available is to update the RSReportServer.config manually.

Modified my RSReportServer.config (which is available at ..\Microsoft SQL Server\MSRS10.MSSQLSERVER\Reporting Services\ReportServer) and set the value for “SMTPAuthenticate” to 2 that is as below

<SMTPAuthenticate>2</SMTPAuthenticate>

Once this was done, my subscription started to deliver the report to my inbox without any issues.

About Suresh Kumar D

Hardcore SQL Developer and aspiring Database Architect.
This entry was posted in SSRS. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSRS Report Delivery by Email failed with “Client not authenticated error”

  1. Lionel says:

    Can’t thank you enough for this simple, direct answer to the problem. Worked like a charm.

  2. applezhu says:

    Thanks. It is really helpful!!

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | Kirukkal a.k.a Scribbling

  4. Hi, i think that i noticed you visited my web site thus i came to ?go back the favor?.I am trying to find things to improve my web site!I assume its good enough to make use of a few of your concepts!!

  5. Pankaj says:

    Hi,
    As per above suggestion i tried to add 2 in but still it not working, giving same error 530 5.7.1 Client was not authenticated Mail will not be resent.

  6. Ajay says:

    Perfect solution!!! worked for me

Leave a Reply

